I’ve seen several authors participating in the Authors at Work blog hop, so I am jumping in and tagging myself.

What am I working on?

My current project is titled, A Deadly Melody and is the first book of a four book mystery/suspense series. I still haven’t decided on the series name yet or the cover design. Below is a first draft version.

4978846

A Deadly Melody was my NaNoWriMo 2013 winning project. Although it was started over nine months ago, it had (and still has) a lot of work left. I completed the first draft a couple of months ago, and am now working on rewriting and finishing all of my research.

My goal is to have everything written and ready for Beta readers by this year’s NaNoWriMo. I’m planning on working on book 2 for my 2014 NaNoWriMo project.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Even though this book is a mystery, it is layered with suspense, romance, and Christian faith. The heroine, Elle, is the lead singer of a very successful rock band, so music is central to the book and the series. The characters are also flawed, which makes them very real.

Why do I write what I do?

I have always enjoyed mysteries, so it was inevitable that I would write a mystery novel. A Deadly Melody originally started out as a stand alone novel, but as I began writing it I knew that if I wanted to tell the entire story it needed to be more than one book. It eventually ended up being broken into four books.

How does my writing process work?

I am totally a planner. For, A Deadly Melody I began with my characters. I had Elle’s character profile written months before I began writing the story. But, my main secondary character, the unnamed cop, was another story. I went through several different character profiles before I settled on my character, Al.

After I had my character profiles, I moved onto plotting the outline and mapping out my storyboard.

Then I wrote. Since I wrote during NaNoWriMo, I finished my 50,000 words in the month of November. That was a huge accomplishment for me, but I knew the story was far from being complete. I wrote off and on for the next several months, and finally completed the first draft late spring 2014.

I am now in the rewriting/editing phase. I’ve heard from my writing buddies that this is the most brutal phase of writing. I can attest to that.  As I started editing, I realized the story needed to go a different way to ensure it would evolve over four books. Almost an entire chapter was cut. That was tough!

How about you? How does your process work? If you are a writer, consider yourself tagged.

Leave a Reply

