Welcome to everyone who has come to my blog via the Spooktacular giveaway! Thanks so much for entering and following my blog. You still have a few days let to enter for your chance to win an Amazon gift card! Click here to be entered in the giveaway.

In prep for NaNoWriMo next week I’ve been trying to get in as much research as possible, while finalizing my settings and plot ideas. It has been a very busy October!

I was happy to have located my plot board from last year. I’ll just need to update it with the book #2 info.

IMG_0676

This helped immensely last year. It is basically an outline on a poster board. Click here for more info on plot boards. I’m so happy for my local NaNo writing group. They have put the fire under my bum that I needed to get this stuff done.

My kitty, Daphne enjoyed looking at it too. She kept rubbing up against it and knocking it on the floor, which is why it is now tacked to the wall. :)

IMG_0675

I am also frantically trying to finish all of my research this weekend, but it is pretty tough with my weekend holiday job. :(

One of the books I’m currently reading Cause of Death: A Writer’s Guide to Death, Murder, and Forensic Medicine. It is part of The Howdunit Series from Writer’s Digest. If you are a mystery writer, this series is a must have. I own two of the books from the series (you can sort of see them on my writing bookshelf in the picture above): Deadly Doses: A Writer’s Guide to Poisons, and Amateur Detectives:A Writer’s Guide to How Private Citizens Solve Criminal Cases. I’m hoping to eventually get all of the books (I think there are 17 in all).

This book is a little gruesome, but very interesting. My series has a very high body count, so learning about the various methods of trying to save someone (and not saving someone) has been very helpful. I just love being a mystery writer!

2 thoughts on “NaNo prepping – Plot Board

Leave a Reply

