With the first week of NaNo almost in the books I thought I’d recap my word count, tell how the story is coming along, and give some random thoughts on this past week.

Word Count:

I am happy to report that I am still on track with my word count. It is currently 10,607. That makes me a tick higher than where I am supposed to be. That is very good news! Plus, I got my 10,000 word badge. :)

1 copy

I am a little anxious, though, because last year after the first week I was thousands of words ahead. But, knock on wood, every time I sit down to write the words just flow. I am not finding hitting my 1,667 daily word count a problem, so far.

Story:

I was really concerned when I started last week, because I had no idea where to begin. I had a very rough outline of what book 2 would be about, especially the murder, but no other ideas past that. The murder and a good part of the book will take place in London, England, so I had to figure out how to get my three MCs to London. That was the tricky part.

The first chapter and a half will set the stage for them to travel to London. I also introduced a new character. A childhood friend of my female MC. She has a few issues to work through, but she’ll be fun to write. I also have hinted at two more characters who will pop up later in the story. So, overall a pretty good start to the story.

Random Thoughts:

Write-ins are saving my butt and my word counts! If you are taking part in NaNo this year, seriously consider making as many write-ins as you can. I love my 2 cats, but they are extremely distracting when I sit down to write. They would much rather me pay attention to them then type on my computer. So getting out of the house to write has been very helpful.

I am so fortunate to have a super awesome region and regional MLs. If your region isn’t very active just get out of your house to write. Go to your local coffee shop or library. Believe me, it makes a TON of difference.

As I had hoped, writing book 2 is making book 1 a whole lot clearer to me. Book 1 is, for the most part, done, but it really needs quite a bit of re-writing and editing. As I am writing book 2, things are popping up that I need to address in book 1. Looks like this winter I’ll be re-writing books 1 & 2!

I have also been jotting down some ideas for books 3 & 4. I’m thinking I need to make a series storyboard to keep track of everything that is happening. I am getting confused as to what is happening in what book with which character.

This weekend should provide another great opportunity to get a jump on next week’s word count. I will be hitting at least three write-ins, including a bowl-a-thon/write-a-thon. I’m excited about that one!

Here’s to a very productive Week 2!

Leave a Reply

