I’m so glad everyone is enjoying my word count mug updates. It has been fun updating it every night and getting to see my actual word count grow. As of today, I am a little over a thousand words away from hitting 20,000!

I’ve had a lot of people ask me questions about my chalkboard mug. I thought I’d take a few minutes to answer them here, in case you are wondering too.

1. Is that a real mug?

Yes. It is an actual mug, not an app or image I tweak every night. I wipe off the amount and re-write my new word count every day. I do take the picture in the same spot in my kitchen. The lighting seems to be pretty good there.

2. I love your mug. Where did you get it?

I got my mug at Michaels craft store. It was an impulse buy, actually. I noticed it on the way to the checkout line. There wasn’t a price on it, so when the cashier checked the price I was super excited to find out it was only $1.99! I couldn’t resist.

3. How do you get your writing so straight using chalk?

I don’t use a piece of chalk. I actually use a chalk pen, which might be the coolest invention ever!

61uNSnusNxL._SL1485_

It wasn’t easy to find, though. I looked at Office Depot, Staples, and Target, but I finally found mine at AC Moore. I’d love to get some different colors too. You can find one on Amazon for only $2.50.

I’ve had a hard time finding another chalkboard mug, especially one as cheap as I found mine. But there are a lot of DIY chalkboard mug tutorials floating around the web.

chalkboard_mug2

photo credit: Wit & Whistle

Here are a few that look really fun and easy:

Wit & Whistle

SheKnows

A Beautiful Mess

The Small Things

So there you go. However you decide to keep track of your word count, make it fun!

2 thoughts on “Chalkboard Mug

Leave a Reply

