It is almost to the end of week 2 of NaNo! Where has the time gone? Ugh!

I am happy to report that I am still on target. Well, actually a little ahead of my targeted word count which is always good. I am pushing to hit the halfway mark tonight! But, a little change in the story has caused me to scrap a lot of the first two chapters. No bueno!

This change makes a lot more sense to get my characters to London, where most of the story takes place. So as tough at it is to start over, it is completely necessary. It happened while I was in the midst of writing my third chapter. I had an epiphany and added a second murder to the story. I had a feeling one murder wasn’t enough for me. I like a high body count. :) So, I now have to go back and re-write chapters 1 & 2. That will be my goal tomorrow.

Speaking of tomorrow. . . My local NaNo writing group is hosting an all day write-a-thon. We will be starting at a local restaurant for breakfast and then making our through the city to libraries, coffee shops, and finally ending up at a local hotel. Our group goal for the day is to reach 100,000 words! I’ve volunteered to give 10% of the goal. Yikes! So, my goal is to reach 10,000. That is the most words I will have ever written in one day. I’m excited, but also afraid that at the end of the day my eyes will be bugging out of my head!

I’ll be tweeting about the “Write-in-Motion” write-a-thon all day. To keep track of my progress and the group’s 100,000 goal follow me at elissakwrites. We might even assign a hashtag to go along with our write-in-motion day, but we don’t have one as of yet.

Hopefully by the end of the weekend I’ll be one giant step closer to my 50,000 words! *Fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

