2015GenreDecadesChallenge

I’ve set quite a few goals this year. With finishing my book, opening a new handmade shop, and blogging more I figured why not add something else to the mix. Bring on the reading challenges!

The first one I signed up for is the Goodreads 2015 reading challenge. I read 40 books last year, so I figured I’d up it a tad. This year my goal is to read 45 books.

The second one is the 2015 Genre Decades Reading Challenge, hosted by Becky’s Book Reviews.

The goal of this challenge is to choose a decade (and up to five different genres) then read a book from each year in that decade. I chose the ’80s, of course. :)

1980s – Mystery, Sci-Fi, Horror, Fantasy

Possible list of titles:

  • 1980 – Rage of Angels by Sidney Sheldon (Mystery)
  • 1981 – If There Be Thorns by VC Andrews (Horror)
  • 1982 – A is for Alibi by Sue Grafton (Mystery)
  • 1983 – The Witches by Roald Dahl (Fantasy)
  • 1984 – The Last Starfighter by Alan Dean Foster (Sci-Fi)
  • 1985 – The Castle in the Attic by Elizabeth Winthrop (Fantasy)
  • 1986 – Chain Letter by Christopher Pike (Horror)
  • 1987 – Swept Away: Pirate Moon by Eileen Goudge (Sci-Fi)
  • 1988 – Cabal by Clive Barker (Horror)
  • 1989 – Nancy Drew: The Broken Anchor by Carolyn Keene (Mystery)

I read three of these books in the ’80s (If There Be Thorns, Chain Letter, and Cabal), but that was a long time ago. Funny that these are all horror books. I didn’t realize I read so many horror/scary books as a kid. I guess I included those in with my mysteries! Hmmm, says a lot. :) I can’t wait to re-read them and see if I feel the same about them the second time around.

One thought on “2015 Genre Decades Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

