Monday written in letter beads and a coffee cup on table

Oops! I had forgotten I had signed up for both Blogging 101 & Blogging 201 until this morning. I think that was a big no-no! I guess I was to pick only one. Oh well. I’ll see if I can combine both into one post a day, or week, or however this is going to work.

The first assignment in Blogging 101 is to post Who I am and Why I am Here. Here it goes. . .

My name is Elissa Kane. I am an aspiring indie author currently working on my first Christian suspense novel. I am not new to blogging, but I am new to WordPress (I am coming over from Blogger). Please bear with me as I fumble though posting, tagging, and navigating around WordPress.

I will most likely be posting about:

  • indie author process
  • mysteries/suspense
  • my novel(s)
  • inspiration for my writing
  • goals
  • books I am reading

I also have started a second blog, Elissa Loves, where I will be posting about:

  • crochet
  • crafts
  • DIY
  • pop culture (mostly ’80s)
  • daily life

It is going to be a challenge to post on both blogs, so we’ll see if that works or if I will eventually combine the two.

The first assignment in Blogging 201 is to write three concrete goals I want to achieve. Only three? Here are my top three:

  • Post at least twice a week on each blog
  • Gain 10% more followers by March 30
  • Establish a new weekly feature on my blog by March 1, and publish that feature every week through August 31

Q: Why do you blog?

To get into the habit of writing on a schedule. It also helps to keep me better organized. Since I am focusing most of my time on completing my novel, I have a lot of ideas and goals floating around in my mind. It is nice to have a place to list them all, and  posting them on a blog holds me accountable for accomplishing those goals.

Q: If your blog exceeded its wildest dreams, what would that look like?

If When my novel takes off, I’d like to have a professionally designed website. I would love to be able to post every day, but for now I just don’t have the time. A larger following would be great too, especially with my readers and other fellow writers. I’d also love to host book and swag giveaways, blog hops, and other fun marketing tricks.

2 thoughts on “Blogging 101 & 201: Day 1

Leave a Reply

