Today’s assignment for Blogging 101 is to edit your title and tagline.

I am actually quite happy with my title and tagline. Since this blog is my author blog, I feel my name should be my title. And my tagline: indie author. craft maven. ’80s junkie explains to readers who I am and what my blog is all about.

The Blogging 201 assignment today is to audit your brand — look at all the ways you communicate information about your blog, and make sure they’re consistent, focused, and say what you want them to say.

I used to be all over the place with my blog and social media sites. I didn’t really have a solid understanding of what I waned to do with this blog. But after looking at some other author sites, I streamlined it quite a bit.

One thing I did was to set up a separate blog for my personal posts. I wanted to keep my writing and novel information on one, but still be able to post about my crafts and DIY projects. So, I started my second blog, Elissa Loves. It is a challenge to keep up with both of them, but I think keeping them separate has helped, especially my readers. They can pick which blog they would prefer to read without being bombarded with posts they might not be interested in reading.

I have also changed my blog look several times. I am currently writing a suspense series, so I wanted a design that reflected my genre. I chose a picture for my header that works well with scenery from my book. The bad thing about this design is that I also have a YA novel in the works, which is very different from this series. Now I have to decide if I choose a generic design to cover both books or make two separate blogs.

Decisions, Decisions!

Leave a Reply

